# Membership of Committees 2022/23 and Appointment of Chairs of Committees

## **Chairs and Deputies**

Scrutiny Committees:

Young People and Children	Councillor Reid
Communities and Equalities	Councillor Hitchen
Economy	Councillor Johns
Resources and Governance	Councillor Simcock
Environment and Climate Change	Councillor Shilton-Godwin
Health	Councillor Green

Chairs and deputy chairs of the non-executive committees for the next municipal year:

Committee	Chair	Deputy Chair
Audit		
Planning & Highways	Councillor Curley	
Licensing and Appeals	Councillor Grimshaw	Councillor Connolly
Licensing Committee	Councillor Grimshaw	Councillor Connolly
Licensing Policy	Councillor Grimshaw	Councillor Connolly
Constitutional and Nomination	Councillor Karney	
Personnel	Councillor Akbar	

# Membership of Committees

## **Scrutiny Committees**

Children and Young People (at least 10 members)

Councillors -

Abdullatif	Alijah	Amin	Bano	Cooley
Gartside	Good	Hewitson	Judge	Lovecy
Reid (Chair)	Sadler	Sharif		
		Mahamed		

#### **Co-opted Members**

Representative of the Diocese of Manchester – Vacant\* Representative of the Diocese of Salford – Mrs Julie Miles\* Parent governor representative – Mr Ade Arogundade\* Parent governor representative – Dr Walid Omara\* Parent governor representative – Ms Zaneta Stepan\* Parent governor representative - Gary Cleworth\* Parent governor representative - Katie McDaid\*

Secondary sector teacher representative – Saba Iltaf Primary sector teacher representative – Laura Smith

\* denotes members with voting rights on education matters

#### **Communities and Equalities** (at least 10 members)

Councillors -

Azra Ali	Benham	Chambers	Connolly	M. Dar
Evans	Hilal	Hitchen (Chair)	Hussain	Iqbal
Johnson	Ogunbambo	H Priest	Rawson	Whiston
Wills	Wilson			

#### Environment and Climate Change (at least 10 members)

Councillors -

Chohan	Doswell	Flanagan	Holt	Hughes
llyas	Jeavons	Lyons	Nunney	Razaq
Sheikh	Shilton-Godwin (Chair)	Wright		

#### Economy (at least 10 members)

Councillors -

Bayunu	Bell	Good	Johns (Chair)	Moran
Noor	Raikes	I Robinson	Taylor	

#### Health (at least 10 members)

Councillors -

N Ali	Appleby	Curley	Green (Chair)	
Johnson	Karney	Mchale	Newman	Reeves
Riasat	Richards	Russell	Wheeler	

#### **Resources and Governance** (at least 10 members)

Councillors -

Andrews	Davies	Good	Kirkpatrick	Lanchbury
---------	--------	------	-------------	-----------

B. Priest	Rowles	A Simcock	Wheeler	
		(Chair)		

## **Non-Executive Committees**

Art Galleries Committee - In addition to the members of the Council, 7 persons are to be nominated by University of Manchester.

Councillors -

Akbar	Bridges	Craig	Midgely	Johnson
Rawlins	White	Rahman	T Robinson	Igbon
Hacking	7 x Co-opted			

## Audit Committee (11 members plus 2 independent co-opted)

Councillors -

Curley	Flanagan	Good	Lanchbury	Russell
Simcock	Wheeler			
Dr D Barker	Mr S Downs			
(Co-opted	(Co-opted			
member)	member)			

#### Planning and Highways Committee (up to 15 members)

Councillor

Andrews	Shaukat Ali	Baker-Smith	Curley (Chair)	Y. Dar
Davies	Flanagan	Hitchen	Kamal	Leech
Lovecy	Lyons	Riasat	Richards	Stogia

#### Licensing and Appeals Committee (not less than 10 and not more than 15)

Councillors -

Evans	Grimshaw (Chair)	Hughes	Jeavons	Hewitson
Judge	Connolly (Deputy Chair)	Andrews	Hassan	Reid
Flanagan	Riasat			

Licensing Committee (not less than 10 and not more than 15)

## Councillors -

Evans	Grimshaw (Chair)	Hughes	Jeavons	Hewitson
Judge	Connolly (Deputy Chair)	Andrews	Hassan	Reid
Flanagan	Riasat			

## Licensing Policy Committee (up to 6)

Councillors -

**Standards Committee** (6 members of the Council, 1 Ringway Parish Councillor and 1 Independent member and 1 independent person)

## Councillors -

Andrews	Evans	Connolly	Lanchbury	A Simcock
Nunney				
Nicole Jackson (Co-opted Independent Chair)	Parish Councillor Christopher O'Donovan (Ringway PC)	Geoff Linell (Co-opted Independent)	Sarah Beswick (Co-opted Independent person)	

In accordance with Article 9 of the Council Constitution, to recommend the appointment of Councillor Andrews for the purpose of answering questions at Council on the work of the Standards Committee.

**Personnel Committee - Membership formula comprises the Leader of the Council,** all members of the Executive, one Assistant Executive Member (Finance and Human Resources\*).

Councillors -

Akbar	Bridges	Craig	Rawlins	Leech
Midgely	Rahman	Hacking	White	
		0		
Stanton*	T Robinson	Igbon		

## Employee Appeals Committee (Formulaic Membership)

An Executive Member with a relevant portfolio (i.e. Executive Member for the service in which the employee was working or the Executive Member with a portfolio relevant to the specific subject area of the appeal) or an appropriate Assistant Executive Member.

Two members drawn from the Council's Executive Members or their Assistant Executive Members, or elected members drawn from a prescribed 'pool'; the nominated members are –

- Councillor Evans
- Councillor Reid
- Councillor N Ali
- Councillor Cooley
- Councillor Connolly
- Councillor Shilton-Godwin
- Councillor Wheeler

#### Constitutional and Nomination Committee (10 members)

Councillors -

Curley	Karney (Chair)	Lanchbury	Richards	Leech
Flanagan	Rahman	Reeves	Craig	

#### Health and Wellbeing Board

To recommend membership as follows:

- (Leader of the Council) (Chair)
- (Executive Member for Health and Social Care) (MCC)
- (Executive Member for Early Years Children and Young People) (MCC)
- Dr Ruth Bromley, Chair Manchester Health and Care Commissioning
- Katy Calvin-Thomas Manchester Local Care Organisation
- Kathy Cowell, Chair, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
- Rupert Nichols, Chair, Greater Manchester Mental Health NHS Foundation Trust
- Mike Wild, Voluntary and Community Sector representative
- Vicky Szulist, Chair, Healthwatch
- Dr Tracey Vell, Primary Care representative Local Medical Committee
- Paul Marshall, Strategic Director of Children's Services
- David Regan, Director of Public Health
- Bernadette Enright, Director of Adult Social Services
- Dr Murugesan Raja Manchester GP Forum
- Dr Geeta Wadhwa Manchester GP Forum
- Dr Doug Jeffrey, Manchester GP Forum
- Dr Shabbir Ahmad Manchester GP Forum (substitute member)
- Dr Denis Colligan, Manchester GP Forum (substitute member)

# Appointment of Lead Members

LGBT Men's Lead	Councillor Wills
LGBT Women's Lead	Councillor Baker-Smith
Intergenerational Issues	
Race	Councillor Hussain
City Centre	Councillor Karney
Disability	Councillor Curley/ Councillor Flanagan
Age Friendly Manchester	Councillor Newman
Women	Councillor Lynch/ Councillor Chambers
Active Travel	Councillor Shilton Godwin
Mental Health Champion	Councillor Douglas
Carers Champion	
Race Women	Councillor Igbon
Trauma Informed	Councillor Doswell